Maggie T

SHOREHAM BY SEA, UNITED KINGDOM

Maggie_T_learn-english-homestay-tution-teacher2

About Maggie

I’m outgoing, enthusiastic and passionate about my life and most things associated with it. I’m mature but young at heart and lucky enough to be in excellent health and fitness.

I usually get up early and walk my dog on the beach, frequently witnessing the rising sun over the sea, which in winter can be spectacular! Although I’ve lived in Shoreham for over 30 years, my early morning walk along the beach never ceases to thrill and amaze me. It ‘s forever changing and never the same daily outlook. After my walk, I frequently swim in the sea with a group of friends if the weather permits. We certainly feel ‘alive’ after our swim, particularly in winter when the temperature barely reaches 6°!

My working life has been primarily in the recruitment sector, latterly as a successful business owner, enabling me to retire from business early so that I could seek further challenges and opportunities.

Since selling my business I’ve been involved in a number of really interesting and rewarding projects. These included a couple of big building refurbishment projects, stressful and costly but the final outcomes were worth the effort.

We’re passionate about art as a family and for a couple of summers entered our house and garden into the Shoreham art trail, exhibiting wonderful crafts and artwork from local artists. At the same time, I encouraged friends to help with a community café at my home to raise funds to rebuild a school in Nepal. The charity we supported built two classrooms with the money raised, which was a really worthwhile result.

I’ve been involved as a listening volunteer for a nationwide charity for a couple of years, taking calls from people who seek emotional support and empathy. It’s encouraging to train and mentor new volunteers, ensuring the charity continues to evolve and provide this vital support.

My current ambition is to continue to study and learn, in my desire to be a good, interesting and engaging teacher of English. I am studying Italian at present, which is helpful in thinking about the ‘learning process’ for students.

Generally my life is full on with lots of fun and variety. I have numerous interests including the arts and music, travel, languages, reading and participating in a number of sports activities. I’m one of the lucky ones!

Location Information

Location: Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom  | View a map of this location

Nearest airport(s): Gatwick

Nominated airport(s) for transfers: Gatwick

Nearest railway station: Shoreham-by-Sea

Any Other Languages?

Beginner/Intermediate Italian & French

Academic Information

Qualifcation:TESOL certificate awarded May 2013
Undertaking certifiable IELTS workshop on 7 & 8 February 2019

Courses Taught

  • Elementary
  • Lower/Pre- Intermediate
  • Intermediate
  • Upper-Intermediate
  • Business English

Family Information

About the Local Area

There’s something for everyone in Shoreham, whether you enjoy a safe and relatively quiet beach, a stroll along the riverbank with some artistic and quirky houseboats, walking on the South Downs, or a lively and historic town with plenty of cafes and restaurants. The beach is just around the corner from the house and is quite unique with masses of colourful flora in the Spring and early Summer. It really isn’t heavily populated at all and at low tide it’s a great place to walk on the sand. It’s also a safe place to swim or to enjoy water sports. The nearby river has a life of its own, occasionally attracting artists to sit and paint the historical town opposite or views of the South Downs nearby. The fabulous new footbridge spanning the river Adur is a couple of minutes walk from the house allowing pedestrians and cyclists to cross into town which is well known for its frequent Saturday morning Farmers Market and an abundance of cafe’s and restaurants. There is masses to see and do in and around Shoreham It’s a lot like paradise particularly when the sun shines and that’s something all of us are used to sharing!

Excursions available with Maggie

We have access to an excellent bus and train service to Brighton, London and Worthing to the west. I’m a car owner and am very familiar with the local environment. I’m happy to take students on excursions that interest them.

Maggie’s Photos

en English
X