Jackie S

SOUTH ENGLAND

Homestay Teacher

About Jackie

My name is Jackie  and I live in Shoreham- By -Sea . I am married to Tim, who is a doctor. We have 3 children, James, Laura and Harry but they have all left home now and live in America and London. They come home from time to time which is lovely! Laura is a teacher in Hertfordshire and James is a property management consultant in Park City, Utah USA. Harry works in Parliament at Westminster in London. Harry comes home a lot as he’s a passionate Brighton and Hove Albion  Football fan and goes to all the home and away games. We go to all the home games.

I am a supply teacher in Primary schools in West Sussex, which means I get to meet 30 new children most days which is challenging and rewarding. Some days I can be teaching 5 y ear olds, the next 11 year olds! I also work at our surgery near by where I manage the accounts .I also belong to a choir.

When I’m not doing all these things, I’m walking Pippin, our 12 year old cocker spaniel on the Downs. I love walking and cycling . We have been lucky enough to get involved in charity work through  Virgin Atlantic.

We have walked the Wall of China, cycled in Rajasthan and Kerala in India , mountain biked the Drakensberg Mountains in South Africa and ridden tuk tuks across India . The money raised has helped to build schools, provide water and transport to areas in need, so it’s been very rewarding. I love my garden and spend a lot of time in it , pottering and tending the vegetables. I love going to the theatre and to concerts. I’ve taken students to shows when they’ve been staying with me, we’ve played the piano together and we’ve cycled ! I also cook the breakfasts at the YHA at Truleigh Hill , which is on the Downs and near to where I live. After cooking , I help in the café and make the beds. Students staying with me can also volunteer to help at the hostel.

Location Information

Location: Shoreham by sea,  West Sussex  | View a map of this location

Nearest airport(s): Gatwick International Airport

Nominated airport(s) for transfers: Gatwick (LGW)

Heathrow airport supplement: Available on Request

Nearest railway station: Shoreham by sea

Any Other Languages?

A little bit of French

Academic Information

Bachelor of Education B.Ed Music, TEFL Certificate

Courses Taught

  • Elementary
  • Lower/Pre- Intermediate
  • Intermediate
  • 11 – 13
  • 14 – 16
  • 17+
  • Boys
  • Girls
  • Adults

Family Information

Jackie is married to Tim. He is a Doctor. They have 3 children.

About the Local Area

We live on the coast so we often take our boat up the river Adur or go out fishing on the sea. We are lucky to have the Downs all around us so we are often walking in the beautiful countryside. Around us we have Brighton, Hove, Worthing Arundel, with it’s spectacular castle and Chichester. We are only half an hour from Gatwick and about the same time by car to Newhaven ferry port.

Excursions available with Jackie

I would be happy to take students to London and show them things that interest them. I’ve done this many times with other students and it’s been a great day out on the train. I’m happy to take students into Brighton to explore the beach, the Laines and perhaps go cycling on an organised tour with my friend Carlos who runs a cycle Brighton tour. The Downs are all around so it would be a shame not to explore the south Downs way and the surrounding countryside. If students are keen, I’m happy to take them to watch Brighton play in the Premiership.

Jackie’s Photos

en English
X