Gill M

SOUTH ENGLAND

homestay teacher

About Gill

We are a friendly family of four (Mum, Dad and two teenage daughters) living in a semi-detached house in Hove, on the quieter outskirts of Brighton. Our location is perfect and we are ideally situated with very easy and quick access to this vibrant busy town by either bus (20 mins ride) or by rail (5 mins walk to station and 15 mins to Brighton).

We also have a direct bus link from the top and bottom of our road to Sussex University. Also, we are just 5 mins away to a railway station which has a direct link to Victoria Railway Station, which is perfect if you want days to London. You will be able to get a direct link onto the underground from there.

Our house is only 5 minutes walk away from the beach, so it is lovely to have a leisurely stroll, swim in the sea and get an ice-cream or drink in one of the seaside cafes nearby. On this beach, there is a swimming pool and also golf and tennis courts. We have some lovely parks nearby to our home, which are ideal to walk or sit in, such as Hove Park or Wish Park. George Street is a busy shopping area nearby, which is within walking distance, if you do not want to go to Brighton. It has a wide range of smaller shops and a Costa Coffee and a large supermarket nearby.

We have a large garden with surrounding trees which is very peaceful to sit in, listen to the birds and read. We would be offering a cozy single bedroom with a separate toilet. The room has a really good quality bed and mattress, blackout blinds, comfortable bedding, drinks machine, flatscreen tv and has recently been newly decorated. We are a fairly quiet family and go to bed at a reasonable time, which is good when you need to study.

We have several cats and are great animal lovers, having also looked after many Guide Dogs for the Blind for up to 6 weeks at a time in our home. We have previously been foster carers to younger children (7-9 year olds) and have loved having them in our home, making them feel welcome and at ease. Both my husband and myself have DBS checks for the safety of children, which we have needed in our previous fostering work.

I very much enjoy looking after people, making sure they are well looked after and happy. I enjoy home cooking and driving my daughters to town, sometimes accompanying them if they want me to. We have always tried to help our children do well at school, developing their English skills from a young age and this has also been replicated in the several foster children we have had into our home.

We always make everyone feel part of our family. My English skills are excellent and I have a good knowledge of punctuation, spelling and writing. I have in a previous job role had the task of copywriting/checking text, making sure there are no errors before print. I particularly enjoy reading books. I am particularly patient and people have described me as kind which is nice. A one to one teaching method would be very relaxed and fun but at the same time reaching the goals which are required. There are some nice places to study in the house, particularly in the garden in a quiet environment, or at the table overlooking the garden for a more formal study area. I dedicate my time to building up a person’s skills each day and work day by day to see progress develop. I would consider our family as being good hosts to a person wanting to come to our home and to share in the experience of being taught in a happy and safe family environment. I am very particular with my English skills with good punctuation, wording, grammar and spelling requirements. My daughter is semi-fluent in Spanish and French and this may also help with spoken conversations or with general communication.

Both myself and my husband are creative social people with a sense of humour and my friends would definately describe me as being a caring home loving person.

Location Information

Location: Hove, East Sussex  | View a map of this location

Nearest airport(s): Gatwick International Airport

Nominated airport(s) for transfers: Gatwick (LGW)

Heathrow airport supplement: Available on Request

Nearest railway station: Hove

Any Other Languages?

A my daughter is fluent in Spanish and French

Academic Information

Qualifcation:BA (Hons) Graphic Design 2:1, OND General Art & Design Pass, GCSE A Level Art C, GCSE O Level English Language C, GCSE O Level Sociology C, GCSE O Level Art B, Pitmans Typing Certificate (65 wpm) PASS

Courses Taught

  • 14 – 16?
  • 17+?
  • Girls

Family Information

Gill is married to John. He is a Graphic Designer. They have 2 daughters.

About the Local Area

In Brighton, there is an amazing array of shops in Churchill Square, rides on the Brighton Pier, history at the Royal Pavilion, the Sealife Centre, Brighton Museum, The Lanes-a creative shopping area, Sussex Downs to name but a few. Brighton nightlife is vibrant and it is a busy area with plenty to do and see. We are very close to the South Downs and have the beach at the bottom of the road with its cafes, lagoon, golf and tennis courts, swimming pool and nearby busy road of local shops (George St).

Excursions available with Gill

Yes, I am happy to go on any excursions to the local attractions. I will be available to teach, host and visit some of the (above) excursions in the local area.

Gill’s Photos

en English
X